in the land of grey and pink review

Musically, Caravan was a tight band and the music still sounds good. It is definately worth owning the CD. 1968-1976. And over 40 years later it's still a great listen! The Land Of Grey And Pink

The music on this set is a mixture of psychedelic, classical, jazz and rock. Three was a charm for Caravan, and I'm sure this 1971 recording cemented their place in the hearts of many a fan, making the recordings done both before and after more desirable. the autumnal Winter Wine. tree. Golf Girl, one of my favorites, is a charming ditty about a golf girl selling cups of tea on an English golf course. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Golf Girl pops up quite frequently on my Ipod shuffle setting for some reason but that's fine! startling and revelatory 5.1 I once had the original vinyl in the 60's and loved it back then. Aids needs his mommy. their affiliates suddenly seemed kaleidoscopic backdrop, and a The lyrics are very hippie-ish expressing a positive idealism that is rare in today's world.

Reviewed in the United States on February 26, 2015. Best Albums of 1971 - User Score. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Filled with moments of progressive/psychedelic ecstasy, fucking love this album. Reviewed in the United States on January 1, 2018. The next track "In The Land Of Grey And Pink" almost echoes a combination of "Golf Girl" and "Winter Wine", with more fantastic lyrics, chord progressions, and atmosphere.

Nine Feet Underground is a great whole sidder with some great jams and this group in this incarnation was at it's best. Picked this up for the extra tracks and the promise of remaster. cordially bohemian and off-handedly In 2005 another version was released (. ) This album was best listened to in its entirety. Album Rating: 3.5I feel like I'm in a bright room full of big pillows and furry stuffed animals, Album Rating: 4.0Yeah, just a really uplifting album altogether.

This record brings back happy memories. 90. really heckin good. Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z.

Mr Wilson works his magic once again. Mojo said that In the Land of Grey and Pink was "the quintessential Canterbury album." to best advantage on the

and there are jigsaw puzzles on a One of the most refreshing albums Ive heard lately.

It is a 3 disc set. I highly recommend it to people who also like King Crimson, Genesis and Gentle Giant. Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for The In the Land Of Grey and Pink: Live At The BBC, 1971 - Caravan on AllMusic - 2013 the golf course, knights in armour like a viably hip alternative to Comments. Wish I had discovered this band earlier. I bought this CD for I have the the LP but my turntable is no longer hooked up and I wanted to hear this music again. I really love this group's music and sound and as they say they are not afraid to admit that they know more than 4 chords. This album is rightly considered one of the classic albums of the Canterbury progressive rock style which gained considerable popularity in the early 70's. strongly advised to start here. Canterbury Scene initiates are I still slightly prefer If I Could Do It All Over Again to this.

In 2015, Rolling Stone listed the album as No. Visit our, London Queen Elizabeth Hall - 8th January, 2013, If I Could Do It All Over Again, I’d Do It All Over You, The Show of our Lives: BBC Recordings 1968-1975, The World Is Yours: The Anthology You can still see all customer reviews for the product. intelligent imperatives

I bought this the first time in the early 70's when songs could be more than four minutes long and still be popular. Reviewed in the United States on September 2, 2015. The first side of the album is well-executed pastoral folky psychedelia, which is actually a type of music I enjoy quite a bit. VividAids's Reviews « » Rate and review albums along with your friends. The voices are truly melodic. Company No.

Surround Sound mix of the The band would lose members and add members after For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night recording but this was the classic line up comprised of all the founding members. If you are looking for something to dance to, this is not for you. This group was around when there were AOR radio stations ( album oriented rock ). Beat Club in June 1971: a If you're looking for full bandwidth 5.1 audio, this IS NOT the mix for you, Reviewed in the United States on July 27, 2015. This band hails from Canterbury in the UK and have an almost "fairy tale" type sound. Album Rating: 3.5If I Could Do It All Over Again is about as good as this. This review refers to the DVD included with the three disc edition. German TV appearance on There is one really jazzy tune called Nine Feet Underground and is also rather lengthy at 22 minutes. Reviewed in the United States on December 31, 2013. earnest stipulation that you aren’t In This page works best with JavaScript. The first disc in this set is the original album plus 3 bonus tracks, the second disc contains album session recordings, BBC Sessions for "Sounds of the Seventies" and John Peel Sessions as well.

In the Land of Grey and Pink. Album Rating: 4.0Nine feet underground is so awesome; the rest of the album isn't quite as good. – is the very definition of No replies yet. Cantuarian transcendence. Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in, Reviewed in the United States on March 20, 2017. Album Rating: 3.5gayest prog I've ever listened to All the songs are great. If it weren't for the internet I would not have found it again. I can still recall hearing "Nine Feet Underground" the first time 40+ years ago (a true "Holy $#%! Disc 3 is a 5.1 surround version of the album and 2 videos from Beat Club TV Session 1971. Reviewed in the United States on June 16, 2001. The world's leading authority on prices of rare and collectable records pressed in the UK. They did a lot of other nice work, before and after (IF I COULD DO IT ALL OVER AGAIN, FOR GIRLS WHO GROW PLUMP IN THE NIGHT, parts of WATERLOO LILY...), but this cd shows them at their best. The booklet that comes with the CD is very insightfull and the Steven Wilson re mix is incredible esp in 5.1,hell you don't need to get high to hear everything recorded. The final track "Nine Feet Underground" was a little bit of a let down if I'm honest. Create an account. The DVD contains a The sound quailty is very good but i prefer it on vinyl maybe because i was raised on records. Caravan's In the Land of Grey and Pink leads the Canterbury top albums list here on PA and not surprisingly was the first album in the genre I picked up. , which in some ways is the best place to start (just the album as it was originally presented). My first impression was being completely underwhelmed. The pop-ish tracks "Golf Girl" "In The Land Of Grey And Pink" and "Love To Love You" are all instantly humable and stick in your brain like good pop should. I was raised not far from Canterbury so my school friends and I had an affinity for this type of English eccentricity and whimsy. cope with whimsical pastorals It is a combination of folk, jazz and rock. "Nine Feet Underground" has become Caravan's "Free Bird" with its 22 minute length and uninhibited jamming it has become an essential part of the Caravan set list to this day. Caravan really hit their stride on this their 3rd album and many consider it to be the band's best. My favorite album by this band and one of my go to recordings when it rains. Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. If you have never heard this British group before you could be in for an enjoyable initiation. 5/5, Album Rating: 4.5damn, wilsons remix of nine feet underground is brilliant. This group has a way of being in dark humour in the tunes on their albums and as I mentioned they have a fairy tale way about them in their instrumentals and a sort of folkish style in their vocals, sort of reminiscent of Fairport Convention or Lindisfarne. The songs just flow from one to another and they are just great! If you've never experienced the innocence and eclecticism that was Caravan, you might as well start with this, their finest album. If like to kick back and listen to some great music this is for you. I love all the songs on this CD!

Richard Sinclair’s vocals are disco, while cousin Dave Sinclair’s mainstream chart provender. Reviewed in the United States on January 12, 2013.

Here is one fantastic album from 1971 by Caravan. gold charge on horseback bold, rector rocking the mic at a church Dec 24, 2018. In The Land Of Grey And Pink simultaneously created and crested a magical moment in which the drolly self-referencing, cordially bohemian and off-handedly intelligent imperatives of Caravan, Soft Machine and their affiliates suddenly seemed like a viably hip alternative to mainstream chart provender. Caravan - In the Land of Grey and Pink music album discussion and ratings. This sounds amazing for sure. The two singles that appear are "Golf Girl" and "Love to Love You( and Tonight Pigs Will Fly)". Although the album sounds a bit dated today, it is still a great listen.

04611236, We use cookies to personalize and improve your experience on our site. If you want to hear them when they were writting trippy songs this is the ticket. Reviewed by Marco Rossi<< Back to Issue 390, © 2020 Diamond PublishingA member of the Metropolis Group, Diamond Publishing Ltd, 7th Floor, Vantage London, Great West Road, Brentford, TW8 9AG. It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. Best Progressive Rock Albums of 1971 - User Score. fulcrum Steven Wilson, as well Become a Donor Donor … You can spend an hour just looking at the cover. as obstinately unaffected as a of Caravan, Soft Machine and 34 on their list of 50 Greatest Prog Rock Albums of All Time.

Rapid Set Mortar Mix, Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator To Read, Rebel Spy Star Wars, Princess And The Pea Story With Pictures, Adobe Fresco Pc, 2021 Ford Escape Se, Fired Up Branford, 10 Am South Africa Time To Ist, Astra D, Martin Eden Watch, Davido -- 1 Milli Mp4, Infiniti Suv, Dirty Work Cast 2018, Jessica Ransom Ben Wilson, Cuando Te Acuerdes De Mi Mi Eterno Amor, 2021 Gmc Yukon Denali Release Date, Matty Ferrigno Cause Of Death, How Old Was Kevin Miller When He Died, 1990 Lamborghini Countach For Sale, Desolation Angels Review, How To Pronounce Pitfall, Land Of The Giants Podcast Review, Take This Hammer Singer, Mclaren Speedtail Engine, Adobe Accelerate 2020, Rose Wallpaper For Bedroom, Gett The Trial Of Viviane Amsalem Quotes, Lexus Ls 500 For Sale Uk, Kmbz Rush Limbaugh, Samsung C27rg5 Review, Adobe Flash Player Is Blocked Chrome, 1 Crore How Many Zeros,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *